Organisation The University of Melbourne (1853 - )

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Alternative Names
  • Melbourne University (also known as)
  • Unimelb (also known as)

The University of Melbourne was established by an Act of the Victorian Parliament in 1853. The foundation stone of the first University building was laid in 1854 on the present central University site of about twenty hectares in the northern part of the City of Melbourne.


Adjacent to the central site, under separate grants and titles, are the recreation grounds of almost six and a half hectares and the lands of the affiliated residential colleges covering more than eighteen hectares. The University also has other campuses and properties in suburban Melbourne and regional Victoria.

The University consists of a Council, the Professors, other members of the academic staff, members of faculties, graduates, diplomates, undergraduates and members of the professional staff designated by Council. The Council of 21 members has responsibility for the conduct of University affairs.

The graduates collectively comprise Convocation, which may make submissions on University matters to the Council. Convocation elects a Standing Committee which may make submissions to Council.

Academic administration of the University is conducted by the various faculties, the Melbourne Business School, and the School of Graduate Research and is supervised by the Academic Board.
(University of Melbourne, Calendar 2009)

Sources used to compile this entry: Annual Report 2017, 2017,

Related Regulations and Statutes

Published Resources

Online Resources