Academic Unit Faculty of Science (1903 - )

University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria, Australia

The Faculty of Science was established in 1903 at the University of Melbourne, under the first Dean, Professor Henry Laurie. Initially the disciplines taught within the Faculty included Chemistry, Physiology, Biology (including elementary Botany), Geology and Minerology, as well as subjects from the Schools of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy (Physics). Over the years, Genetics, Information Systems, and Optometry have been added to this list.
(Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne )