Academic Unit School of Chemistry


The School of Chemistry is a department of the Faculty of Science and one of the largest and oldest in Australia with a distinguished history in teaching and research.

The first lectures in chemistry in The University of Melbourne were given in 1856, only three years after the University was founded. Since then the School has grown with over 3000 undergraduates enrolled in Chemistry subjects and more than 120 research higher degree students. The School is home to 26 continuing teaching and research staff and over 40 research only and 20 professional staff.

Related Academic Units