Academic Unit Victorian College of Optometry


In 1940 the Australian College of Optometry was established. This changed its name to the Victorian College of Optometry in 1960 and affiliated with the University of Melbourne two years later. The course was initially taught in the Faculty of Applied Science, and in 1969 it was transferred to the Faculty of Science. A Department of Optometry was established in 1973. In 2009 the name reverted to the Australian College of Optometry. In 2013 a new affiliation for the University of Melbourne was signed.

Published Resources

Online Resources

Prepared by: Alannah Croom