Regulations and Statutes UTR6.297 The June Howqua Prize (2011 - )


By her will dated 17 December 2003, the late June Louise Howqua bequeathed $100,000 to the University, establishing 'The June Howqua Prize Fund'. The fund supports 'The June Howqua Prize' which is awarded to the student with the most 'potential and promise as determined by 'The June Howqua Prize Committee'. The student's 'academic achievements and financial circumstances' are also taken into consideration. The Committee comprises the dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences (or his or her nominee), a Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University and up to three other people as appointed by the Council. The prize was made a University regulation in 2011 and until 2013 the prize was awarded to a student enrolled in the final year of the Bachelor of Medicine or Bachelor of Surgery. Since 2014, the prize has been awarded to a student enrolled in their final year of the Doctor of Medicine degree.

Published Resources

Online Resources