Academic Unit Faculty of Dentistry (1904 - 1930)


In 1884 a group of dentists formed the Odonatological Society of Victoria with the aims of the regulation and education of dentists in the state of Victoria.

The Melbourne Dental Hospital opened its doors in 1890 and was followed in 1897 by the Australian College of Dentistry devoted solely to the education of dentists.

In 1904 a Faculty of Dental Science was established and the College was affiliated with The University of Melbourne. In 1963 the Faculty.

In 1989 the Faculty of Dentistry merged with the Faculty of Medicine (established 1876) to create a new Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry comprising a School of Medicine and a School of Dental Science respectively. To reflect additional responsibilities, the faculty expanded in 1991 to become the present Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences.

Published Resources

Online Resources