Event 1974 - The University Assembly was established


After a review of the University government in 1972 the University Assembly was established. The Assembly was 'a permanent consultative body of 114 members elected from among the academic and general staff and students'. Dr Davis McCaughey was appointed chair and Richard Tanter the secretary. 'The Assembly failed to live up to expectations and, starved of resources in the 1980s, it was finally abolished in 1989.'

Published Resources

Online Resources

Sources used to compile this entry: University of Melbourne Archives, Key 98: The University Assembly 1974-1989, The University of Melbourne, 2017, https://archives.unimelb.edu.au/resources/keys-to-the-past/keys/key-98.